FAQ - Starlight Events GmbH
25703
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-25703,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-17.0,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.5,vc_responsive

FAQ – Frequently Asked Questions

What is Son et Lumiere?

Sound and light show, sound and light spectacle – the French term “Son et Lumière” has established itself in international parlance as a generic term for nocturnal entertainment, which is usually projected onto historically important buildings outdoors. Not surprisingly, as its roots go back to the curator of Château de Chambord on the Loire, Paul Robert-Houdin, who first staged such a spectacle on the buildings of the castle in 1952, with the art of Son et Lumière. Another important project which marked the beginning of this new art form was the show at the pyramids of Giza in the early 1960s. The first show of this kind was staged in the USA in 1962, on the facade of the Independence Hall in Philadelphia, and in 1965 in India, at the Red Fort in Delhi. Other countries have also developed their own traditions; Great Britain, Canada, Peru and Colombia.

While actors were often integrated into the projects in the early years, today the focus is on spectacles with high-performance projectors and sound systems – this is mostly due to developments in technology as well as cost considerations

Son et Lumière gets under your skin, it appeals to your senses and has developed into a unique art form. Light and sound, pictures and videos, music and sound effects merge to create a holistic experience, sometimes supplemented by fireworks and water elements, and continuously evolving interactive elements.

Starlight Events (www.starlights.ch) created a new focal point in Switzerland in 2011 with “Rendez-vous Bundesplatz“, and in the following year designed and realized projects on the international stage: in Seoul, in the run-up to Switzerland’s participation in the World Exhibition of Yeoshu/South Korea, and in Port Hercule in Monaco, marking the return of Planet Solar, the first solar-powered boat to circumnavigate the world.

What kinds of projects are suitable for the art of Son et Lumière?

The nocturnal spectacle was predestined for projection onto historical buildings and manor houses; modern architectural backgrounds have also grown in popularity, especially in France. Today, Son-et-Lumière shows are held regularly at over fifty locations, from Les Baux to Nancy, from Avignon to Strasbourg.

The capital of Son et Lumière is still France: at the beginning of December, Lyon will stage a four-day “Fête des lumières“. Around one million spectators per day admire the Festival of Lights in Lyon.

How much does the illumination of a building cost?

It depends on many factors. The building itself, its structure, the type of façade, the style and type of show, the technology required and, of course, the duration of the spectacle. A minute costs between 5,000 and 10,000 francs.

FAQ - Starlight Events GmbH
25656
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-25656,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-17.0,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.5,vc_responsive

FAQ – häufig gefragt

Was ist Son et Lumiere?

Sound and Light Show, Ton- und Lichtspektakel – im internationalen Sprachgebrauch hat sich der französische Begriff «Son et Lumière» etabliert als Gattungsbegriff für eine nächtliche Unterhaltung, die meistens an historisch bedeutenden Gebäuden im Freien stattfindet. Weiter nicht verwunderlich, gehen doch die Wurzeln zurück auf den Kurator des Château de Chambord an der Loire, Paul Robert-Houdin, der 1952 die Gebäude des Schlosses erstmals mit Son et Lumière in Szene setzte. Ein anderes bedeutendes Projekt aus den Anfängen dieser neuen Kunstform war die Inszenierung der Pyramiden von Gizeh in den frühen 60er-Jahren. 1962 fand die erste derartige Vorführung in den USA statt, an der Fassade der Independence Hall in Philadelphia, 1965 in Indien am Red Fort in Delhi. Aber auch andere Länder haben mittlerweile ihre eigenen Traditionen entwickelt, so z.B. Grossbritannien und Kanada, Peru und Kolumbien.

Während in den frühen Jahren oft Schauspieler in die Projekte integriert wurden, stehen heute – nicht zuletzt dank den neuen technischen Mitteln sowie aus Kostenüberlegungen – Spektakel mit Einsatz von Hochleistungsprojektoren und -tonanlagen im Vordergrund.

Son et Lumière geht unter die Haut, spricht die Sinne an und wird so zu einer einzigartigen Kunstgattung. Licht und Ton, Bilder und Videos, Musik und Geräusche verschmelzen zu einem Gesamterlebnis, teilweise ergänzt mit Feuerwerk und Wasserspielen und mit immer neuen interaktiven Elementen.

Starlight Events (www.starlights.ch) setzte 2011 einen neuen Akzent in der Schweiz mit «Rendez-vous Bundesplatz» und durfte im Folgejahr Projekte auf dem internationalen Parkett konzipieren und realisieren: in Seoul im Vorfeld der Schweizer Beteiligung an der Weltausstellung von Yeoshu/Südkorea und im Port Hercule von Monaco anlässlich der Rückkehr von Planet Solar, dem ersten solargetriebenen Boot, das die Welt umrundet hat.

Für welche Art von Projekten eignet sich Lichtkunst?

Das nächtliche Spektakel ist prädestiniert für die Bespielung von historischen Gebäuden, Herrschaftshäusern, aber auch von moderner Architektur und hat vor allem in Frankreich rasch an Popularität gewonnen. Heute finden an gut fünfzig Orten regelmässig Son-et-Lumière-Präsentationen statt, von Les Baux bis Nancy, von Avignon bis Strassburg.

Die Hauptstadt von Son et Lumière liegt auch heute noch in Frankreich: Jeweils anfangs Dezember lädt Lyon zum viertägigen «Fête des lumières» ein. Mittlerweile bewundert gegen eine Million Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer pro Tag das Lichterfest von Lyon.

Was kostet die Illumination eines Gebäudes?

Das hängt von sehr vielen Faktoren ab. Vom Gebäude selber, von seiner Struktur, der Art seiner Fassade und ebenso vom Stil und der Art der Darbietung, von der Technik, die es dafür braucht, und selbstverständlich auch von der Dauer des Spektakels. Über den Daumen gepeilt kostet eine Minute zwischen 5000 und 10’000 Franken.